top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllie Turley

Memories at the bottom of a pint glass

There are memories at the bottom of a pint glass

A Stella chalice

With lipstick marks around the rim,

Red like crime scene fingerprints.

There are memories in this chair

In this pub

Splattered up the walls and clogging up the gutters

Thick and sour like birthday vomit.

There are memories in these matts of hair,

Brittle and tangled from neglect

Brushing my face,

Flailing in the air to echoing heavy metal screams

Itchy.


I remember sitting on the 68 bus on a Monday

Tapping a toe to the sound of 2000s electronica

Eyes tripping in and out of focus like a junkie

Fucking feral

Twitching at the sunlight

Picking at a spot of acne of my neck till it bled

Jilted

Self-pitying

With metal spikes pierced into my lips

Talking with a lisp

And gagging on disgusting cigarettes I bought from a kid outside the petrol station


There are memories at the bottom of a pint glass

And trodden into the sole of my broken trainers.

In the whirring song of a tattoo machine

And the angry tiger engraved on my chest.

There are memories threaded in white bedsheets on the washing line,

Flapping in the wind like a flag of surrender.


Other memories gather dust and start to rot

On the top shelf, in a dark room.

Nibbled on by mice and concealed beneath cobwebs

In the basement of my mind.

Sometimes they spill out

Leaking out of me and staining the carpet.

Sometimes they creep up on me in the night

Poking and prodding

I lay awake

Haunted by a slur of my words in the pub,

Drunken text messages,

And panic attacks in the Asda car park.


There are memories at the bottom of a pint glass

But memories of her are different

Dim and flickering

Like the broken neon sign at the kebab shop on Jewry Street

I think of them as individual pixels

2D and over saturated

Deep fried

Linking together to create a bigger image,

A better image

Engulfed in the misty veil of teenage optimism,

Rose tinted by nostalgia and cheap cans of cider.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All the fit girls live in Bristol

5 ft 7 shadows in strobe lights Sports bras, gold chains, and red eyes I just want this drum and bass romance With a sick jungle B side. Tinnitus and hangovers Living off meal deals and paracetamol No

What I can offer you

I’ve got a tiny thumb And a face full of metal I’ve got hair in the plug hole And limescale in the kettle I’ve got a bus to catch And pasta sauce on my jeans I’ve got a bag full of magnets And a rolli

bottom of page